Italy blog · Study Abroad blog · Travel Blog · Uncategorized

Tuesday June 13th – Saturday June 17th: The end of the line

After getting back to Florence late from Milan, we all slept nicely and bright eyed and chipper the next morning, we were on our way to the Stibbert Museum of arms and armor.

There was a bit of a hike to the bus stop, from where the bus dropped us off and literally up a hill to reach this place. I was thankful for the cold air of the AC when we stepped through the front doors though.

I wasn’t really sure what to expect when going into the museum because I’ve never really seen armor before so I was excited to see this place decked out in many suits of armor, swords, guns, paintings, statues and unique things such as Samurai outfits, armor, masks and weapons.

The collection was unique in itself and was preserved quite nicely. After hiking back down which was much easier than walking up, we had the rest of the day to ourselves.

The next few days were not that eventful. Emily and I did go out to various diners and cafes just to give our taste buds a final goodbye before we left Florence for good. I also went out and took more photos to try and preserve the images of what this place was like so I’d never forget it.

Though, on the last day we were in Florence, I decided to go out and get gelato for my household and upon arriving and ordering the gelato and paying for it – my card didn’t work at all and I was freaking out and the guy didn’t really speak English and it was just bad and I was holding up the line.

So, he ย was like, it’s okay, you just come back and pay later and I was trying to explain to him that I didn’t have any money to pay because all my money was on the card, but I think that just got lost and he finally pushed the bag full of 30 Euro gelato into my hands and said “take it.”

So, I did. I walked back to the apartment with the thought of he’s never going to see me again and I just took so much gelato from the man. I turned into an international gelato thief and I didn’t know it. Needless to say, my roommates were happy with gelato but laughed their asses off when they found out what I “paid” for it.

Anyway, my month in Italy has opened me up to many new things when it comes to culture, language, and history. It’s made me appreciate the little things in life more and to always spend each day to the fullest and make as many memories as you can and to cherish the experiences you have and to create your own.

I want to go back. I need to go back. Someday I will, I’ll go back, explore and just live like I did this whole month. Well, that’s it Italy. It’s been good and I hope to see you soon.

-Niki

Leave a Reply

