Uncategorized

Tuesday May 23rd – Orientation & Wine

Let me just say that having orientation in a room with some dope ass art on the ceiling, is so freaking awesome! They know how to build lecture halls in Florence, that’s for sure!

It pains me to say it, but I was dozing off a little bit during the boring parts of orientation about class schedules and other stuff, but I was totally awake when the cop showed up. His name was Michele and he was so great.

Not only did he give us advice on how to avoid conflicts in the city itself and to protect yourself from pickpockets and to be smart and not look like a tourist which is something the criminals look for when targeting people. He caught my attention because he was entertaining us while he was teaching us about safety while using people from the audience and stupid accents that were hilarious.

Needless to say, that giant, blunt cope will forever hold a special place in my heart. After orientation, I was dragged back home to get ready for some fancy gala that was going to take place that night.

Now, if you know me personally, you’d know that me and fancy really don’t mix because let’s be honest here – I’m nowhere near ladylike and fancy. I mean, I can hardly sit right when wearing a dress for God’s sake!

Anyways, for a few hours in our apartment the three other girls I lived with were fussing about hair and makeup and such and what matches what. It was pretty entertaining, but I did get a free “makeover” out of it which meant I didn’t have to waste my time putting my face on. One point for Niki!

It was a bit of a trek to get to the gala. It was being held at the Badini-Gattai Palazzo and let me tell you, the outside does not give you a hint of what’s on the other side of the door. It was so beautiful. Walking in, you’re greeting with a marble statue of a woman surrounded by plants and many beautiful greenery.

Walking out into the garden, classical music started flowing through the air giving a calm vibe to the whole place. There were also statues and structures just covered in pastel colored flowers and naturally I snapped pictures because why wouldn’t I? I was also dying a little bit because of my allergies. Being allergic to pollen and being surrounded by a shit ton of flowers really doesn’t mix, but I sucked it up and marched on.

SRISA really knows how to treat their students because the garden had a buffet of fancy foods as well as an open wine bar for all to enjoy. While everyone mingled and got to know each other from the various schools from around the United States. It was a nice and classy event for the most part, but as soon as the sun started to go down and the teachers left – it got freaky.

With the students and the staff still there, the music changed from classical to gangsta rap all in English and let me tell you, that was the loudest ‘whoop’ of excitement I’ve ever heard, but I mean I can’t say anything because I started rapping the lyrics I knew.

With the combo of free wine and dancing, let’s just say a few people partied too hard that night and their dance moves were a clear indication of that! A few people in our group landed in that category and it was hilarious to watch and the walk back home was even more funny.

But, overall, it was a nice evening filled with wine, food and laughter – three things that make things just a little bit better in my opinion!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment